Evernight Series, Claudia Gray

| 20 September , 2010 | 2 Replies

Tina Gamble

The first three novels in the Evernight series by Claudia Gray, Evernight, Stargazer and Hourglass, introduces and draws readers into a world full of vampires, wraiths and Black Cross hunters.

In the first book, Evernight, 16-year-old Bianca, a new student at the mysterious and creepy Evernight Academy, finds herself thrown into a world she barely understands, where most of the students look perfect, but there\’s something about them doesn\’t seem right. At times, it seems like they\’re from another time. But that can\’t be right, can it?

The second book, Stargazer, picks up the pace a bit, as star-crossed lovers Bianca and Lucas, find themselves sneaking around, and risking everything to be together. Torn between two lives, Bianca knows she must make a choice. But when discoveries are made that shatter everything she\’s ever known to be true, Bianca soon finds herself caught in a powerful battle, one that may decide her very fate.

Hourglass is the third novel in the series, which follows Bianca and Lucas, after their escape from Evernight Academy. Having to hide her true heritage, Bianca and Lucas seek refuge with Black Cross, an elite group of vampire hunters. While weaving a deadly web that threatens to tear apart, Bianca soon finds that the truth surrounding her birth is not something she can easily escape. And when a betrayal sees these star-crossed lovers on the run for their lives, this time, even Lucas may not be able to help her fight this latest battle.

The Evernight series by Claudia Gray is a non-stop thrilling ride that twists and turns at all the most unexpected moments. These novels bring together several worlds, drawing out the very best and all of the worst. Readers will get sucked onto this rollercoaster ride, as they laugh and cry, time and time again.

Gray\’s characters all have strong personalities, and provide something for even the stubbornest of tastes. The relationships that arise are believable and enviable. And even if Bianca and Lucas are not to everyone\’s taste, there are other characters that can easily fill the void. Some fan favourites are of course, Balthazar, Dana and Vic; even Ranulf, which proves that there really is someone in here for everyone.

My personal favourite is Vic, and I think it\’s utterly genius of Gray to bounce Ranulf off him, as they have both become quite the token comedy duo throughout the series.

So, whether you\’re new to the Evernight series or a long time fan, these novels are devastatingly addictive, and with a little bit of everything thrown in, there\’s bound to be something to appeal to most readers.

In this truly pleasurable read, Gray gives her audience a new reason to love the paranormal.

Available now: HarperCollins RRP$19.99 ea

Read my interview with Claudia Gray, Part 1 and Part 2.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tags: ,

Category: Books

Leave a Reply